Faculty & Staff Contact

Department Chair Contact Information Specialty
Terrell, Dawn
Professor
at SF State since 1990
Ph.D., Yale, 1989
Office: EP 301A
Phone: (415) 338-7555
E-mail: schen9@sfsu.edu
Clinical
 

For an appointment with the Chair, please email the Assistant to the Chair, Singing Chen at schen9@sfsu.edu. Include a phone number and your available days/times.

Students should see a Faculty Advisor before obtaining the Dept. Chair's signature for:

  • Graduation Applications
  • Academic Probation Forms
  • Course Withdrawals, etc.

Note: All student forms must be dropped of at the front desk, EP 301. Forms are signed once a day.

Faculty Advisors

Available during office hours for academic advising. An appointment during office hours may be necessary.


Faculty

Contact Information

Specialty 

Barber, Sarah
Assistant Professor (2014)

Ph.D., Stony Brook University, 2010

Office: EP 307
Office Hours: Th 10-12pm
Phone: (415) 405-3417
Email: barber@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognition and Aging Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Aging
     
Ben-Zeev, Avi
Professor (2001)

Ph.D., Yale, 1997

Office: EP 327
Office Hours: Tu 12-2pm, Th 2:30-3:30

Phone: (415) 405-2107
Email: abenzeev@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognition and Social Equity Lab
Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Mathematical Reasoning
Stereotyping

 
     
Colvin, Caran
Professor (1998)

Ph.D., Penn State University

Office: EP 326
Office Hours: M 1:30-3:30

Phone: (415) 405-0758
Email: ccolvin@sfsu.edu
Web:  
Industrial/Organizational 
     
Cookston, Jeff
Professor (2002)

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2000

Office: EP 501
Office Hours:  M 1-2pm & W 9:30-11am
Phone: (415) 405 - 2132
Email: cookston@sfsu.edu
Web: Family Interaction Research Lab

Coordinator-Developmental
Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Social Construction of Family
Parenting
Marital/Family Conflict
Divorce

     
Eschleman, Kevin
Assistant Professor (2012)

Ph.D., Wright State University

Office: EP 503C
Office Hours: Tu 3-4pm & Th 12-2pm

Phone: (415) 338-1030
Email: kesch@sfsu.edu
Web: Health and Organizational Psychology
Industrial/Organizational
Organizational Psychology
Job Stress
Worker Well-Being
Personality  
     
Gard, David
Professor (1997)

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2005

Office: EP 235
Office Hours: By Appointment 
Email: dgard@sfsu.edu
Web: Motivation and Emotion Research Lab
Coordinator- MS Clinical
Experimental
Psychopathology
Schizophrenia
     
Geisler, Mark
Professor (1999)

Ph.D., SUNY, Stony Brook, 1994

Office: EP 325
Office Hours: M/Tu 2:30-4pm

Phone: (415) 338-6026
Email: mgeisler@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognitive Psychophysiology Lab
Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Human Cognitive
Psychophysiology
Sensory-Cognitive Processing
     
Hagan, Melissa
Assistant Professor (2015)

Ph.D., Arizona State University, 2013

Office: EP 239
Office Hours: W 7-10am

Phone: (415) 405-3555
Email: mjhagan@sfsu.edu
Web:Stress, Trauma, and Resilience Lab
Clinical
Stress
Trauma
Intervention
Young Adulthood
Physiology
Child Development 
     
Harris, Diane
Professor (1990)

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1980

Office: EP 234
Office Hours: M 4:30-6:30pm

Phone: (415) 338-7064
Email: dharris@sfsu.edu
Web:
Coordinator-MS School
Graduate Program Coordinator
Clinical
Eating Disorders
Childhood Overweight
Obesity
     
Holley, Sarah
Assistant Professor (2011)

Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Office: EP 236
Office Hours: W 8-10am

Phone: (415) 405-0760
Email: sholley@sfsu.edu
Web: Relationships, Emotion and Health Lab
Clinical
Psi Chi Advisor
Relationships
Emotions
Health
     
Howell, Ryan
Associate Professor (2007)

Ph.D., UC Riverside, 2005

Office: EP 202
Office Hours: M 9-10am & 4-5pm

Phone: (415) 405-2140
Email: rhowell@sfsu.edu
Web: Personality and Well-Being
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Psi Chi Advisor

Quantative Methods
     
Kim, John J.
Professo(1995)

Ph.D., M.I.T., 1993

Office: EP 421
Office Hours: Tu/Th 12:30-2pm

Phone: (415) 405-4155
Email: johnjkim@sfsu.edu
Web:
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Cognitive Development
     
Lewis, Julia
Professor (1984)

Ph.D., UC Los Angeles

Office: EP 241
Office Hours: W 1:10-4:15pm

Phone: (415) 338-7545
Email: jmlewis@sfsu.edu
Clinical
Longitudial Research
Divorce
Adult, Child, Family Psychotherapy
     
Matsumoto, David
Professor (1989)

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 1986

Office: EP 328
Office Hours: Not Available Spring 2017
Phone: (415) 338-1114
Email: dm@sfsu.edu
Web: Culture and Emotion Research Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior/Social
Cross-Cultural Emotion
U.S Olympics- Judo
     
Mello, Zena
Assistant Professor (2013)

Ph.D., Penn State University

Office: EP 309
Office Hours: Th 3-5pm

Phone: (415) 338-7557
Email: zmello@sfsu.edu
Web: Time and Diversity Lab
Social
Adolescence
Ethnic Minority Groups
Time Perspective

Low Socioeconomic Status
     
Miller, Patricia
Professor (2010)

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1970

Office: 503C
Office Hours: M 1-2pm & Tu 10:30-11:30am

Phone:(415) 338- 6197
Email: phmiller@sfsu.edu

 
Developmental
Cognitive Strategies
Executive Function                Exercise                          Metacognition
Theory of Mind             Memory 
Gender
     
Morsella, Ezequiel
Associate Professor (2007)

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2002
 

Office: EP 324
Office Hours: W 3-5pm

Phone: (415) 338-1831
Email: morsella@sfsu.edu
Web: Action and Consciousness Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior/Social
Neuroscience of Consciousness and Action Control
     
Paap, Ken
Professor (2004)

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1975

Office: EP 503A
Office Hours: Tu/Th 3:30-5pm

Phone: (415) 338-6840
Email: kenp@sfsu.edu
Web:
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Language
Attention
Cognitive Engineering
     
Paik, Jae
Associate Professor (2004)

Ph.D., Indiana University, 2004

Office: EP 305
Office Hours:By appointment

Phone: (415) 405-0577
Email: jaepaik@sfsu.edu
Web: Learning and Developmental Lab
Developmental
Early Mathematical Concepts
Language
Development
Cross-Cultural Cognition
     
Rodriguez, Rita
Assistant Professor (2008)

Ph.D., Stanford University

Office: EP 237
Office Hours: M 2-4pm

Phone: (415) 338-3218
Email: ritar@sfsu.edu
Web:
School
Mindset
Learning
Intelligence
     
Smith, Amy
Associate Professor (2004)

Ph.D., UC Santa Cruz, 2004
J.D., University of Michigan, 1998

Office: EP 508
Office Hours: W 2:45-3:15pm & Th 1:15-3:30pm

Phone: (415) 338-1275
Email: smithae@sfsu.edu
Web:
Social
Legal/Forensics
Psychology and Law
Social Justice
Jury Deliberations/Decision Making
     
Suri, Gaurav R.
Assistant Professor (2016)

Ph.D., Stanford, 2014

Office: EP 307
Office Hours: W 2-3pm & F 1-2pm

Phone: (415) 405-3477
Email: suri@sfsu.edu
Web: Readiness, Activation, and Decision Making Lab
Social
Decision Making
Motivated Action
Attention
Affect & Affect Regulation
     
Tate, Charlotte
Associate Professor (2009)

Ph.D., University of Oregon, 2006

Office: EP 310
Office Hours: Not available Sping 2017

Phone: (415) 338-2267
Email: ctate2@sfsu.edu
Web: Social Perception, Attitudes, Mental Simulation Lab

Coordinator- MA Social
Prejudice and Discrimination
Identity
Sexuality

 

     
Terrell, Dawn
Professor (1990)

Ph.D., Yale, 1989

Office: EP 301
Office Hours:  By Appointment

Phone: (415) 338-7555
Email: schen9@sfsu.edu
Clinical
Mind-body Wellness and Intergrative Clinical Interventions
Cultural Issues
Positive Psychology
     
Wright, Christian
Professor (1998)

Ph.D., University of South Florida, 1996

Office: EP 509
Office Hours: Tu/Th 8-9am

Phone: (415) 338-1465
Email: cwright@sfsu.edu
Web: Chris Wright
Coordinator- MS Industrial/Organizational
Human Resource Selection
Test Development Validation
Job Analysis

Lecturers

Arvidsson, Toi Sin

Office: EP 507
Office Hours: M 2:30-3:30pm 
Email: doroui@gmail.com

Bhangal, Sabrina

Office:EP 304A
Office Hours: F 1-2pm 
Email: sabrinabhangal@gmail.com

Estell, Deborah

Office:
Office Hours: By appointment
Email: d7estell@gmail.com

Freire, Ana

Office:
Office Hours: By appointment
Email: anafreire78@yahoo.com

Halligan, Jim

Office: EP 311
Office Hours: M 12-2pm & Tu/Th 9:45-10:30pm
Email: jim.halligan1@gmail.com

Hill, Adrienne Office: EP 231
Office Hours: W 6-7pm
Email: ah@sfsu.edu

Hoffman, Valerie

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: W 3:15-3:45pm & 7-7:30pm
Email: drval@sfsu.edu

Hughes-Stone, Mary

Office: EP 113
Office Hours: Tu/Th 11-2pm
Email: mphughes@sfsu.edu

Jackson, Trevor

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: Tu 3-4pm
Email: trevorj@mail.sfsu.edu

Krepack, Alan

Office:
Office Hours: Th 4-6pm
Email: akrepack@changeworksglobal.com

Leong, Susana

Office: EP 238
Office Hours:Th 6:55-7:55pm
Email: leong@sfsu.edu

Martell, Zoe

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: M 4:30-6:30pm
Email: ragsandfeathers@outlook.com

Mason, Christina

Office:
Office Hours: By appointment
Email: csmason1@sfsu.edu

Nunley, Patricia

Office:
Office Hours: 
Email: pnunley@sfsu.edu

Perry, Chris

Office: HSS 268
Office Hours: M 7-8pm
Email: quibly23@yahoo.com

Ravaglioli, Stephanie

Office:EP 207
Office Hours: M 6-7pm
Email: sravaglioli@hotmail.com

Seliger, Jordan

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: W 1:30-2:30pm
Email: jseliger@sfsu.edu

Shrayber, Mark

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: Tu 7-9pm
Email: m.shrayber@gmail.com

Tinson, Leslye

Office: EP 218
Office Hours: M 6-7pm 
Email: ltinson@sfsu.edu

Walker, Christina

Office: via Zoom
Office Hours: F 4-5pm
Email: cwalker@sfsu.edu

Yeung, Ivy

Office: EP 304A
Office Hours: Th 6-7pm
Email: psych466@gmail.com

Zhang, Jia Wei

Office: EP 304A
Office Hours: M 12-1pm
Email: jwzhang23@berkely.edu

Emeritus/Emerita Faculty

Dr. K. Bartelme
Emeritus since 1988
Dr R. Grissom
Emeritus since 2000
Dr. H. Lindgren
Emeritus since 1984
Dr. V. Saunders
Emerita since 2007
Dr. L. Berry,
Emerita since 2004
lberry@sfsu.edu
Dr. M. Heinstein
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. W. Littel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Spencer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. R. Bowler
Emerita since 2005
rbowl@sfsu.edu
Dr. F. Hovell
Emeritus since 2001
Dr. B. Loewy
Emerita since 2002
Dr. T. Steiner
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. W. Coppcock
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. S. Hunter
Emeritus since 1989
Dr. J. Luft
Emeritus since 1986
Dr. R. Suczek
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. G. Cox,
Emerita since 1987
Dr. S. Insel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. R. Mayer
Emerita since 2010
Dr. S. Zipf
Emerita since 2003
gs74@sfsu.edu
Dr. J. DeCecco
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. A. Jacobson
Emeritus since 1991
Dr. N. McCoy
Emerita since 2007
Dr. J. Newton
Emeritus since 2012
Dr. H. Einhorn
Emeritus since 1996
Dr. M. Kardush
Emerita since 2005
Dr. D. Piontkowski
Emerita since 2003
Dr. S. Waldman
Emerita since 2011
Dr. P. Eskilden
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Kroeber,
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. J. Podell
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. K. Mosier
Emerita since 2016
Dr. R. Fresco Emeritus since 1994 Dr. L. Kroeker
Emeritus since 2008
lkroeker@sfsu.edu
Dr. S. Rauch
Emeritus since 1992
 
Dr. R. Goldman,
Emerita since 2001
Dr. R. LaForge
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. R. Rust,
Emeritus since 1987
 

 

 

University Administration

 

  Contact Information Specialty
Bunge, Sacha
Professor
at SF State since 1989
Ph.D., Berkeley
Office: HSS 359
Office Hours:
not available this semester
Dean of Faculty Affairs
Phone: (415) 338-1846
E-mail: sbunge@sfsu.edu
Clinical / Developmental
 
Monteiro, Kenneth
Professor
at SF State since 1987
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1982
Office: EP 121
Office Hours:
not available this semester
Dean, College of Ethnic Studies
Phone: (415) 338-1693
E-mail: monteiro@sfsu.edu
Cognitive Psychology
Multicultural Issues
African American Achievement
Health Psychology

 

Department Office Staff




Contact Information
Cable, Jacob
Department Office Manager
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2714
Email: cablejac@sfsu.edu
Staff Supervisor
Supply Order
Purchasing/Reimbursements
Department Budget
Course Schedule Building
     
Chen, Singing
Assistant to the Chair
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-7555
Email: schen9@sfsu.edu
Payroll/ Human Resources issues
Department Chair Calendar
Scheduling Appointments
Faculty/Lecturer Course Appointments
     
Cortz, Rachael Marie
Student Services Coordinator

 

Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2713
Email: rmc4@sfsu.edu
General Information
Student Form Processing
Student Assistant Supervisor
Basic Advising
Student Outreach/Internships
     
Jessica McLachlan
Clinic Coordinator
Office: EP 240
Office Hours:
Phone: 415-338-2856
Email: sfsupsyclin@gmail.com
Web: SF State Training Clinic
Psychology Clinic
Test Library 
     
Triay, Miranda G.
Graduate Program Secretary 
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2711
Email: mtriay@sfsu.edu
Graduate program information services
MA/MS Program Admissions