Faculty & Staff Contact

Department Chair Contact Information Specialty
Terrell, Dawn
at SF State since 1990
Ph.D., Yale, 1989
Office: EP 301A
Phone: (415) 338-7555
E-mail: dterrell@sfsu.edu

For student appointments with the Chair, please email the Assistant to the Chair, Singing Chen at schen9@sfsu.edu. Include a phone number and your available days/times.

Students should see a Faculty Advisor before obtaining the Dept. Chair's signature for:

  • Graduation Applications
  • Academic Probation Forms
  • Course Withdrawals, etc.

Note: All student forms must be dropped of at the front desk, EP 301. Forms are signed once a day.

Faculty Advisors

Available during office hours for academic advising. An appointment during office hours may be necessary.


Contact Information


Barber, Sarah
Assistant Professor (2014)

Ph.D., Stony Brook University, 2010

Office: EP 307
Office Hours: Th 12-2pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 405-3417
Email: barber@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognition and Aging Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Ben-Zeev, Avi
Professor (2001)

Ph.D., Yale, 1997

Office: EP 327
Office Hours: Tu/Th 2-3:30pm, & by appointment

Phone: (415) 405-2107
Email: abenzeev@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognition and Social Equity Lab
Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Mathematical Reasoning

Colvin, Caran
Professor (1998)

Ph.D., Penn State University

Office: EP 326
Office Hours: By Appointment

Phone: (415) 405-0758
Email: ccolvin@sfsu.edu
Cookston, Jeff
Professor (2002)

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2000

Office: EP 503B
Office Hours: Not Available Spring 2018

Phone: (415) 405 - 2132
Email: cookston@sfsu.edu
Web: Family Interaction Research Lab

Undergraduate Program Coordinator
Social Construction of Family
Marital/Family Conflict

Eschleman, Kevin
Associate Professor (2012)

Ph.D., Wright State University

Office: EP 503C
Office Hours: T 3-5pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-1030
Email: kesch@sfsu.edu
Web: Health and Organizational Psychology
Organizational Psychology
Job Stress
Worker Well-Being
Gard, David
Professor (1997)

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2005

Office: EP 235
Office Hours: By Appointment 
Email: dgard@sfsu.edu
Web: Motivation and Emotion Research Lab
Coordinator- MS Clinical
Geisler, Mark
Professor (1999)

Ph.D., SUNY, Stony Brook, 1994

Office: EP 325
Office Hours: By Appointment

Phone: (415) 338-6026
Email: mgeisler@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognitive Psychophysiology Lab
Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Human Cognitive
Sensory-Cognitive Processing
Hagan, Melissa
Assistant Professor (2015)

Ph.D., Arizona State University, 2013

Office: EP 239
Office Hours: W 8-11am & by appointment

Phone: (415) 405-3555
Email: mjhagan@sfsu.edu
Web:Stress, Trauma, and Resilience Lab
Young Adulthood
Child Development 
Harris, Diane
Professor (1990)

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1980

Office: EP 234
Office Hours: M 4:30-6:30pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-7064
Email: dharris@sfsu.edu
Coordinator-MS School
Graduate Program Coordinator
Eating Disorders
Childhood Overweight
Holley, Sarah
Assistant Professor (2011)

Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Office: EP 236
Office Hours: W 7-9am & by appointment

Phone: (415) 405-0760
Email: sholley@sfsu.edu
Web: Relationships, Emotion and Health Lab
Psi Chi Advisor
Howell, Ryan
Associate Professor (2007)

Ph.D., UC Riverside, 2005

Office: EP 202
Office Hours: By Appointment

Phone: (415) 405-2140
Email: rhowell@sfsu.edu
Web: Personality and Well-Being
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Psi Chi Advisor

Quantative Methods
Kim, John J.

Ph.D., M.I.T., 1993

Office: EP 421
Office Hours: W 8:10-10:50am & by appointment

Phone: (415) 405-4155
Email: johnjkim@sfsu.edu
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Cognitive Development
Lewis, Julia
Professor (1984)

Ph.D., UC Los Angeles

Office: EP 241
Office Hours: M 4-6pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-7545
Email: jmlewis@sfsu.edu
Longitudial Research
Adult, Child, Family Psychotherapy
Matsumoto, David
Professor (1989)

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 1986

Office: EP 328
Office Hours: Th 3-4pm & by appointment
Phone: (415) 338-1114
Email: dm@sfsu.edu
Web: Culture and Emotion Research Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior/Social
Cross-Cultural Emotion
U.S Olympics- Judo
Mello, Zena
Assistant Professor (2013)

Ph.D., Penn State University

Office: EP 309
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-7557
Email: zmello@sfsu.edu
Web: Time and Diversity Lab
Ethnic Minority Groups
Time Perspective

Low Socioeconomic Status
Morsella, Ezequiel
Associate Professor (2007)

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2002

Office: EP 324
Office Hours: F 10:30-12:30pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-1831
Email: morsella@sfsu.edu
Web: Action and Consciousness Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior/Social
Neuroscience of Consciousness and Action Control
Paap, Ken
Professor (2004)

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1975

Office: EP 503A
Office Hours: Tu/Th 3:30-5pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-6840
Email: kenp@sfsu.edu
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Engineering
Paik, Jae
Associate Professor (2004)

Ph.D., Indiana University, 2004

Office: EP 305
Office Hours: By Appointment

Phone: (415) 405-0577
Email: jaepaik@sfsu.edu
Web: Learning and Developmental Lab
Early Mathematical Concepts
Cross-Cultural Cognition
Sanchez, Diana
Assistant Professor (2017)

Ph.D., Colorado State

Office: EP 507
Office Hours: W 2-3pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-1059
Email: sanchezdianar@sfsu.edu
Web: Workplace Technology Lab

Industrial/Organizational Training & Development, Virtual Teams, Games & Simulation based Learning, Workplace Technology

Smith, Amy
Associate Professor (2004)

Ph.D., UC Santa Cruz, 2004
J.D., University of Michigan, 1998

Office: EP 508
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-1275
Email: smithae@sfsu.edu
Psychology and Law
Social Justice
Jury Deliberations/Decision Making
Suri, Gaurav R.
Assistant Professor (2016)

Ph.D., Stanford, 2014

Office: EP 306
Office Hours: M 11-1pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 405-3477
Email: suri@sfsu.edu
Web: Readiness, Activation, and Decision Making Lab
Decision Making
Motivated Action
Affect & Affect Regulation
Tate, Charlotte
Associate Professor (2009)

Ph.D., University of Oregon, 2006

Office: EP 310
Office Hours: M 11-12pm, W 2-3pm & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-2267
Email: ctate2@sfsu.edu
Web: Social Perception, Attitudes, Mental Simulation Lab

Coordinator- MA Social
Prejudice and Discrimination


Terrell, Dawn
Professor (1990)

Ph.D., Yale, 1989

Office: EP 301
Office Hours:  By Appointment

Phone: (415) 338-7555
Email: sdterrell@sfsu.edu
Mind-body Wellness and Intergrative Clinical Interventions
Cultural Issues
Positive Psychology
Wright, Christian
Professor (1998)

Ph.D., University of South Florida, 1996

Office: EP 509
Office Hours: W 8-9am & by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-1465
Email: cwright@sfsu.edu
Web: Employee Research Lab
Coordinator- MS Industrial/Organizational
Human Resource Selection
Test Development Validation
Job Analysis


Estell, Deborah

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: d7estell@gmail.com

Freire, Ana

Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: anafreire78@yahoo.com

Glidden, Jacquelyn

Office: EP 209 
Office Hours: T/TH 3:30-4:30pm & by appointment
Email: jacquelyn.t.glidden@gmail.com

Halligan, Jim

Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: jimhalligan1@gmail.com

Harter, Ann

Office Hours: By Appointment 
Email: annharter@gmail.com

Hill, Adrienne Office: 
Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: ah@sfsu.edu

Hughes-Stone, Mary

Office: EP 113
Office Hours: T/TH 11-2pm & by appointment
Email: mphughes@sfsu.edu

Hwang, Hyisung

Office: EP 319 
Office Hours: T 3-4pm & by appointment
Email: hwang@sfsu.edu

Leong, Susana

Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: leong@sfsu.edu

Martell, Zoe

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: TH 4:30-6:30pm & by appointment
Email: ragsandfeathers@outlook.com

Oliver, Andre

Office: EP 317
Office Hours: W 4-6pm & by appointment
Email: aoliversfsu@gmail.com

Perry, Chris

Office: BH 236
Office Hours: Th 7-8pm & by appointment
Email: quibly23@yahoo.com

Raviglioli, Stephanie

Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: sravaglioli@hotmail.com

Rodriguez, Rita

Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: ritar@sfsu.edu

Sherman, Alexandra

Office:EP 209 
Office Hours: T 2-3pm & by appointment
Email: asher.dg@gmail.com

Shrayber, Mark

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: M 2-4pm, T 1-2pm, Th 6-6:50pm & by appointment
Email: shraybersfsu@gmail.com

Tinson, Leslye

Office: EP 218
Office Hours: T 3-4pm & by appointment
Email: ltinson@sfsu.edu

Walker, Christina

Office Hours: By Appointment
Email: cwalker@sfsu.edu

Emeritus/Emerita Faculty

Dr. K. Bartelme
Emeritus since 1988
Dr R. Grissom
Emeritus since 2000
Dr. H. Lindgren
Emeritus since 1984
Dr. V. Saunders
Emerita since 2007
Dr. L. Berry,
Emerita since 2004
Dr. M. Heinstein
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. W. Littel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Spencer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. R. Bowler
Emerita since 2005
Dr. F. Hovell
Emeritus since 2001
Dr. B. Loewy
Emerita since 2002
Dr. T. Steiner
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. W. Coppcock
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. S. Hunter
Emeritus since 1989
Dr. J. Luft
Emeritus since 1986
Dr. R. Suczek
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. G. Cox,
Emerita since 1987
Dr. S. Insel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. R. Mayer
Emerita since 2010
Dr. S. Zipf
Emerita since 2003
Dr. J. DeCecco
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. A. Jacobson
Emeritus since 1991
Dr. N. McCoy
Emerita since 2007
Dr. J. Newton
Emeritus since 2012
Dr. H. Einhorn
Emeritus since 1996
Dr. M. Kardush
Emerita since 2005
Dr. D. Piontkowski
Emerita since 2003
Dr. S. Waldman
Emerita since 2011
Dr. P. Eskilden
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Kroeber,
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. J. Podell
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. K. Mosier
Emerita since 2016
Dr. R. Fresco Emeritus since 1994 Dr. L. Kroeker
Emeritus since 2008
Dr. S. Rauch
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. R. Goldman,
Emerita since 2001
Dr. R. LaForge
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. R. Rust,
Emeritus since 1987



University Administration


  Contact Information Specialty
Bunge, Sacha
at SF State since 1989
Ph.D., Berkeley
Office: HSS 359
Office Hours:
not available this semester
Dean of Faculty Affairs
Phone: (415) 338-1846
E-mail: sbunge@sfsu.edu
Clinical / Developmental
Monteiro, Kenneth
at SF State since 1987
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1982
Office: EP 121
Office Hours:
not available this semester
Dean, College of Ethnic Studies
Phone: (415) 338-1693
E-mail: monteiro@sfsu.edu
Cognitive Psychology
Multicultural Issues
African American Achievement
Health Psychology


Department Office Staff

Contact Information
Cable, Jacob
Department Office Manager
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2714
Email: cablejac@sfsu.edu
Staff Supervisor
Supply Order
Department Budget
Course Schedule Building
Chen, Singing
Assistant to the Chair
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-7555
Email: schen9@sfsu.edu
Payroll/ Human Resources issues
Department Chair Calendar
Scheduling Appointments
Faculty/Lecturer Course Appointments
Cortz, Rachael Marie
Student Services Coordinator


Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2713
Email: rmc4@sfsu.edu
General Information
Student Form Processing
Student Assistant Supervisor
Basic Advising
Student Outreach/Internships
McLachlan, Jessica
Clinic Coordinator
Office: EP 240
Office Hours:
Phone: 415-338-2856
Email: sfsupsyclin@gmail.com
Web: SF State Training Clinic
Psychology Clinic
Test Library 
Vogt, Katie
Graduate Services Coordinator 
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2711
Email: kvogt1@sfsu.edu
Graduate program information services
MA/MS Program Admissions