Faculty & Staff Contact

Department Chair Contact Information Specialty
     
Wright, Chris
Professor
at SF State since 1998
Ph.D., University of South Florida, 1996
Office: EP 301A
Phone: (415) 338-7555
E-mail: cwright@sfsu.edu
Industrial/Organizational
Employee Selection and Retention

For student appointments with the Chair, please email the Assistant to the Chair, Singing Chen at schen9@sfsu.edu. Include a phone number and your available days/times.

Students should see a Faculty Advisor before contacting the Department Chair for:

  • Questions About Graduation
  • Approval of Academic Probation Forms
  • Course Adds, Withdrawals, etc.

Faculty Advisors and Office Hours

 


Faculty

Contact Information

Specialty 

Ben-Zeev, Avi
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2001

Ph.D., Yale, 1997

Office: EP 327
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 8-10am or by appointment

 

Phone: (415) 405-2107
Email: abenzeev@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognition and Social Equity Lab

Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Mathematical Reasoning
Stereotyping

 
     
Cookston, Jeff
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2002

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2000

Office: EP 503B
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 2-4pm by appointment

Zoom: https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/92551675190?pwd=OWF5RUNNYXduazJ3Z05pQlBVNWZqQT09

Phone: (415) 405-2132
Email: cookston@sfsu.edu
Web: Family Interaction Research lab

Coordinator-Developmental
Graduate Program Coordinator
Social Construction of Family
Parenting
Marital/Family Conflict
Divorce

     
Eschleman, Kevin
Associate Professor
Joined SFSU in 2012

Ph.D., Wright State University, 2011

Office: EP 503C
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Thursday 8am to 10am
Zoom ID: 831 227 4170 and Passcode: 202122
Phone: (415) 338-1030
Email: kesch@sfsu.edu
Web: Health and Organizational Psychology

Industrial/Organizational
Job Attitudes
Job Stress & Health
Career Pursuit
     
Gard, David
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1997

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2005

Office: EP 235
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday 8-10am and by appointment
Phone (415) 338-1440
Email: dgard@sfsu.edu
Web: 
Motivation and Emotion Research Lab

Coordinator- MS Clinical
Experimental
Psychopathology
Schizophrenia
     
Geisler, Mark
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1999

Ph.D., SUNY, Stony Brook, 1994

Office: EP 325
Office Hours: Spring 2022, email for appointment until 2/28 then Monday 2:30-4pm and by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-6026
Email: mgeisler@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognitive Psychophysiology Lab
Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Human Cognitive
Psychophysiology
Sensory-Cognitive Processing
     
Hagan, Melissa
Associate Professor
Joined SFSU in 2015

Ph.D., Arizona State University, 2013

Office: EP 239
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday & Thursday 3-4:30pm (sign up link below)

Schedule appoinment at: https://hagan.youcanbook.me/
Phone: (415) 405-3555
Email: mjhagan@sfsu.edu
Web: www.sfsustarlab.com

Clinical
Stress/Trauma

Mental Health Disparities

Resilience

Psychophysiology Interventions

 

 

     
Harris, Diane
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1990

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1980

Office: EP 234
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 4-6:30pm or by appointment

Phone: (415) 338-7064
Email: dharris@sfsu.edu
Web:
Coordinator-MS School
Clinical
Eating Disorders
Childhood Overweight
Obesity
     
Holley, Sarah
Associate Professor
Joined SFSU in 2011

Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Office: EP 236
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 12-2pm (by appointment with link below)

Schedule appointment at: https://sholley-sfsu.youcanbook.me/
Phone: (415) 405-0760
Email: sholley@sfsu.edu
Web: Relationships, Emotion and Health Lab
Clinical
Relationships
Emotions
Health
     
Howell, Ryan
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2007

Ph.D., UC Riverside, 2005

Office: EP 202
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday 8-10am

Zoom ID: 819 6782 1814 and Passcode: 362238
Phone: (415) 405-2140
Email: rhowell@sfsu.edu
Web: 
PWB Research Lab

Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Psi Chi Advisor

Quantative Methods
     
Ihorn, Shasta
Assistant Professor
Joined SFSU in 2018

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2013

Office: EP 237
Office Hours: Spring 2022, on leave

Schedule appointment at: calendly.com/sihorn
Phone: (415) 338-3218
Email: sihorn@sfsu.edu
Web:
School
     
Karras, Juliana
Assistant Professor
Joined SFSU in 2020

Ph.D., City University of New York, 2018

Office: EP 307
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 2-5pm or by appointment with link below

Schedule appointment at: https://youcanbook.me/
Phone: 
E
mail: jkarras@sfsu.edu
Web: A.R.C. Lab

Developmental
Inequality and Social Development
Civic Engagement
Children’s Rights
Ethnic-Racial Identity
Immigrant-Origin Children and Youth
     
Kim, John J.
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1995

Ph.D., M.I.T., 1993

Office: EP 421
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 6-8pm and by appointment (email for zoom link)

Phone: (415) 405-4155
Email: johnjkim@sfsu.edu
Web:
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Cognitive Development
     
Lewis, Julia
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1984

Ph.D., UC Los Angeles

Office: EP 241
Office Hours: Spring 2022, not available

Phone: (415) 338-7545
Email: jmlewis@sfsu.edu
Clinical
Longitudial Research
Divorce
Adult, Child, Family Psychotherapy
     
Matsumoto, David
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1989

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 1986

Office: EP 328
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday 1-2pm or by appointment (email for zoom link)

Phone: (415) 338-1114
Email: dm@sfsu.edu
Web: Culture and Emotion Research Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior/Social
Cross-Cultural Emotion
U.S Olympics- Judo
     
Mello, Zena
Associate Professor
Joined SFSU in 2013

Ph.D., Penn State University

Office: EP 309
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Thursday 11am-1pm

Zoom: https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/81944141044?pwd=SDBhZkRmZGRmbzlyZnpEOWNMa290Zz09

Phone: (415) 338-7557
Email: zmello@sfsu.edu
Web: The Time Lab

Social
Adolescence
Ethnic Minority Groups
Time Perspective

Low Socioeconomic Status
     
Monteiro, Kenneth
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1987

Ph.D., Stanford, 1982

Office: EP 406
Office Hours: Spring 2022, on leave

Phone: (415) 405-7587
Email: monteiro@sfsu.edu
Web:
Developmental
Cognitive Psychology
Multicultural Issues
African American Achievement
     
Morsella, Ezequiel
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2007

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2002
 

Office: EP 324
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Friday 10:30am-12:30pm (email for zoom link)

Phone: (415) 338-1831
Email: morsella@sfsu.edu
Web: Action and Consciousness Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Neuroscience of Consciousness and Action Control
     
Paap, Ken
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2004

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1975

Office: EP 503A
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday 3:30-4:30pm & Thursday 3:30-4pm

Phone: (415) 338-6840
Email: kenp@sfsu.edu
Web:
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Language
Attention
Cognitive Engineering
     
Paik, Jae
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2004

Ph.D., Indiana University, 2004

Office: EP 305
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 9:30-11am or by appointment
Zoom ID: 972 9372 4991 and Passcode: 834747
Phone: (415) 405-0577
Email: jaepaik@sfsu.edu
Web: Learning and Developmental Lab
Developmental
Early Mathematical Concepts
Language
Development
Cross-Cultural Cognition
     
Sanchez, Diana
Assistant Professor
Joined SFSU in 2017

Ph.D., Colorado State, 2017

Office: EP 305
Office Hours: Spring 2022, on leave
https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/5824018370https://calendly.com/sanchezdianar for appointment
Phone: (415) 338-1059
Email: 
sanchezdianar@sfsu.edu

Web: Workplace Technology Lab

Industrial/Organizational Training & Development, Virtual Teams, Games & Simulation based Learning, Workplace Technology

     

Smith, Amy
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2004

Ph.D., UC Santa Cruz, 2004
J.D., University of Michigan, 1998

Office: EP 508
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Thursday 11am-12:15pm or by appointment (email for zoom link)

Phone: (415) 338-1275
Email: smithae@sfsu.edu
Web:
Social
Legal/Forensics
Psychology and Law
Social Justice
Jury Deliberations/Decision Making
     
Suri, Gaurav R.
Associate Professor
Joined SFSU in 2016

Ph.D., Stanford, 2014

Office: EP 306
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 1:30-3:30pm                                                                                          Zoom link: https://sfsu.zoom.us/j
/7690008420?pwd=ZDI3QkxOL0k1M1VBTkVZUUhyaTZkZz09
Phone: 
(415) 338-2267                                    
Email: suri@sfsu.edu
Web: Readiness, Activation, and Decision Making Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Decision Making
Neural Networks
Attention and Learning
Emotion and Regulation
     
Tate, Charlotte
Professor
Joined SFSU in 2009

Ph.D., University of Oregon, 2006

Office: EP 310

Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 12-1:30pm & Tuesday 3-4pm or by appointment                                    Zoom link: https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/89928505637?pwd=b0JUKzNKZGVFanJWajBFS2dpRmx6UT09
Phone: (415) 338-2267
Email: ctate2@sfsu.edu
Web: Social Perception, Attitudes, Mental Simulation Lab

Coordinator- MA Social
Prejudice and Discrimination
Identity
Sexuality

 

     
Wright, Christian
Professor
Joined SFSU in 1998

Ph.D., University of South Florida, 1996

Office: EP 301
Office Hours: Spring 2022, email schen9@sfsu.edu for an appointment

Phone: (415) 338-7555
Email: cwright@sfsu.edu
Web: Employee Research Lab
Coordinator- MS Industrial/Organizational
Human Resource Selection
Test Development Validation
Job Analysis

Lecturers

Anders-Jefferson, Regina

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday by appointment
Email: reginaa@mail.sfsu.edu

Burciaga, Ashley

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2021, email for appointment
Email: burciaga@mail.sfsu.edu
Chandler, Sean Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday & Thursday 10am-12pm
Email: schandle@mail.sfsu.edu
Chen, Ivy Office: Via Zoom
SOffice Hours: Fall 2021, email for appointment
Email: ivychen@sfsu.edu
Chen, Yufei Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, not available
Email: ychen72@sfsu.edu
Estelll, Deborah

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2021, email for appointment
Email: destell@mail.sfsu.edu

Feinberg, Giles

Office: Via Google Vo
Office Hours: Fall 2021, Tuesday 5:45pm-6:45pm
Email: gilesf@sfsu.edu

Frias-Bravo, Ana Office: Via Zoom

Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday 12-1pm or by appointment

Email: anafriasb@sfsu.edu

Ghafur, Reza

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 1-3:30pm
Email: rghafur@sfsu.edu

Gomez, John-Michael ffice: Via Zoom

Office Hours: Spring 2022, by appointment

Email: jmgomez1@sfsu.edu

Halligan, Jim

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday & Thursday 11am-12:30pm or by appointment
Email: halligan@sfsu.edu

Hill, Adrienne

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, by appointment
Email: ah@sfsu.edu

Hughes-Stone, Mary

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday 2-5pm and Thursday 9-11am or by appointment
Email: mphughes@sfsu.edu

Jean Pierre, Adrianna Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2021, email for appointment
Email: annaj@mail.sfsu.edu
Kaufman, Cari Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, not available
Email: ckaufman4@sfsu.edu
Kaur, Rupinder Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2021, email for appointment
Email: rkaur1@mail.sfsu.edu
Kong, Emily Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 1:30-2:30pm
Email: emilykong@sfsu.com
Krepac, Alan

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, 
Email: akrepack1@sfsu.edu

Leong, Susana

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Tuesday 1:40-2pm & 3:40-5:20pm or by appointment
Email: leong@sfsu.edu

Lucier, Dawn Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 2-3:30pm, Thursday 11am-1:30pm
Email: dlucier@sfsu.edu

Martell, Zoe

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, by appointment
Email: zmartell@sfsu.edu

Miller, Raquel Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2021, by appointment
Email: rmiller4@mail.sfsu.edu
Mota, Bruna Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 12-12:30pm
Email: bmota@mail.sfsu.edu

Moyer, April

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2021, Monday 6-8pm
Email: amoyer@sfsu.edu

Nassar, Shereen Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 5-6pm
Email: snassar6@sfsu.edu
Peng, Wagner

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 2-3pm
Email: wpeng1@sfsu.edu

Perry, Chris

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2021, Wednesday 12-1pm
Email: chrisp@mail.sfsu.edu

Price, Daniela Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 11am-12:25pm & 1:45-3pm
Email: dprice@sfsu.edu
Ravaglioli, Stephanie Office: Via Zoom

Office Hours: Spring 2022, by appointment

Email: sravagli@mail.sfsu.edu

Rodriguez, Rita

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 6-7pm by appointment only
Email: ritar@sfsu.edu

Shrayber, Mark

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 6-8pm or by appointment
Email: mshraybe@sfsu.edu

Sinervo Paul, Aviva Office: Via Zoom

Office Hours: Spring 2022, Thursday 2-4pm, Wednesday & Friday by appointment

Zoom: https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/85704867891?pwd=Rk1aaVNGWVp6eWVoMnNDMVBseW9KZz09                               Meeting ID: 857 0486 7891            Passcode: ASconsult

Email: asinervo@sfsu.edu
Sooshani, Roxanne Office: Via Zoom

Office Hours: Spring 2022, Wednesday 12-1pm or by appointment

Email: roxys@sfsu.edu

Tinson, Leslye

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, Monday 12-2pm or by appointment
Email: ltinson@sfsu.edu

White, Nathan

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2022, by appointment
Email: nwhite2@mail.sfsu.edu

Emeritus/Emerita Faculty

Dr. K. Bartelme
Emeritus since 1988
Dr R. Grissom
Emeritus since 2000
Dr. H. Lindgren
Emeritus since 1984
Dr. V. Saunders
Emerita since 2007
Dr. L. Berry,
Emerita since 2004
Dr. M. Heinstein
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. W. Littel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Spencer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. R. Bowler
Emerita since 2005
rbowl@sfsu.edu
Dr. F. Hovell
Emeritus since 2001
Dr. B. Loewy
Emerita since 2002
Dr. T. Steiner
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. W. Coppcock
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. S. Hunter
Emeritus since 1989
Dr. J. Luft
Emeritus since 1986
Dr. R. Suczek
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. G. Cox,
Emerita since 1987
Dr. S. Insel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. R. Mayer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. S. Zipf
Emerita since 2003
gs74@sfsu.edu
Dr. J. DeCecco
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. A. Jacobson
Emeritus since 1991
Dr. N. McCoy
Emerita since 2007
Dr. J. Newton
Emeritus since 2012
Dr. H. Einhorn
Emeritus since 1996
Dr. M. Kardush
Emerita since 2005
Dr. D. Piontkowski
Emerita since 2003
Dr. S. Waldman
Emerita since 2011
Dr. P. Eskilden
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Kroeber,
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. J. Podell
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. M. Lynch
Emerita since 2015
Dr. R. Frescor

Emeritus since 1994

Dr. L. Kroeker
Emeritus since 2008
lkroeker@sfsu.edu
Dr. S. Rauch
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. K. Mosier
Emerita since 2016
Dr. R. Goldman,
Emerita since 2001
Dr. R. LaForge
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. R. Rust,
Emeritus since 1987
Dr. D. Terrell
Emerita since 2021

 

 

University Administration

 

  Contact Information Specialty
Bunge, Sacha
Professor
at SF State since 1989
Ph.D., Berkeley
Office: HSS 359
Office Hours:
not available this semester
Dean of Faculty Affairs
Phone: (415) 338-1846
E-mail: sbunge@sfsu.edu
Clinical / Developmental
 

 

Department Office Staff




Contact Information
Vivian Toy
Department Office Manager
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2714
Email:  
viv@sfsu.edu
Staff Supervisor
Supply Order
Purchasing/Reimbursements
Department Budget
Course Schedule Building
     
Chen, Singing
Assistant to the Chair
Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-7555
Email: schen9@sfsu.edu
Payroll/ Human Resources issues
Department Chair Calendar
Scheduling Appointments
Faculty/Lecturer Course Appointments
     

Fields, Christopher
Student Services Coordinator

 

 

Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2715
Email:  cfields5@sfsu.edu
General Information
Student Form Processing
Student Assistant Supervisor
Basic Advising
Student Outreach/Internships
     
VACANT
Clinic Coordinator
Office: EP 240
Office Hours:
Phone: 415-338-2856
Email: sfsupsyclin@gmail.com
Web: SF State Training Clinic
Psychology Clinic
Test Library 
     

Kwong, Megan
Graduate Services Liaison 

Office: EP 301
Phone: 415-338-2713
Email: mwkwong@sfsu.edu
Graduate program information services
MA/MS Program Admissions