Faculty & Staff

Students should see a Faculty Advisor to discuss the following topics:

  • Questions about psychology careers (visit an advisor who has expertise that aligns with your interests)
  • Approval of Academic Probation Forms
  • Course Adds, Withdrawals, etc.

To report a conduct concern, please contact the Chair of the Psychology Department. Appointments can be made by emailing the Assistant to the Chair, Singing Chen. Please include your phone number and available days/times.

 

 

 

Faculty Advisor Contact Information Specialty
Ben-Zeev, Avi
Professor
Joined SF State in 2001

Ph.D., Yale, 1997

Office: EP 327
Office Hours: Fall 2022, not available

Phone: (415) 405-2107
Email: abenzeev@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognition and Social Equity Lab

Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Mathematical Reasoning
Stereotyping
 
Cookston, Jeff
Professor
Joined SF State in 2002

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2000

Office: EP 503B
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Monday 10am-12pm and by appointment via zoom

Phone: (415) 405-2132
Email: cookston@sfsu.edu
Web: Family Interaction Research lab

Graduate Program Coordinator

Social Construction of Family
Parenting
Marital/Family Conflict
Divorce

Eschleman, Kevin
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2012

Ph.D., Wright State University, 2011

Office: EP 503C
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesdays 11am-1pm via Zoom
Zoom ID: 831 227 4170 and Passcode: 12321
Phone: (415) 338-1030
Email: kesch@sfsu.edu
Web: Health and Organizational Psychology

Industrial/Organizational
Job Satisfaction
Job Stress & Health
Career Pursuit
Gard, David
Professor
Joined SF State in 1997

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2005

Office: EP 241
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday 8-10am or by appointment (email for zoom link)
Phone (415) 338-1440
Email: dgard@sfsu.edu
Web: Motivation and Emotion Research Lab

Coordinator- MS Clinical
Experimental
Psychopathology
Schizophrenia
Geisler, Mark
Professor
Joined SF State in 1999

Ph.D., SUNY, Stony Brook, 1994

Office: EP 325
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday & Thursday 2:30-4pm in person or email for appointment
Phone: (415) 338-6026
Email: mgeisler@sfsu.edu
Coordinator- MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Human Cognitive
Psychophysiology
Sensory-Cognitive Processing
Hagan, Melissa
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2015

Ph.D., Arizona State University, 2013

Office: EP 239
Office Hours: Fall 2022, schedule here
Phone: (415) 405-3555
Email: mjhagan@sfsu.edu
Web: www.sfsustarlab.com
Clinical
Stress/Trauma
Mental Health Disparities
Resilience
Psychophysiology
Interventions 
Harris, Diane
Professor
Joined SF State in 1990

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1980

Office: EP 234
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Monday 12-1pm and by appointment
Phone: (415) 338-7064
Email: dharris@sfsu.edu
Coordinator-MS School
Clinical
Eating Disorders
Childhood Overweight
Obesity
Holley, Sarah
Professor
Joined SF State in 2011

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2006

Office: EP 236
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Monday 12-1pm, schedule here
Phone: (415) 405-0760
Email: sholley@sfsu.edu
Web: Relationships, Emotion and Health Lab
Clinical
Relationships
Emotions
Health
Howell, Ryan
Professor
Joined SF State in 2007

Ph.D., UC Riverside, 2005

Office: EP 202
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Thursday & Friday 8-9am
Zoom ID: 894 6936 0557 and Passcode: 414244
Phone: (415) 405-2140
Email: rhowell@sfsu.edu
Web: PWB Research Lab

Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Psi Chi Advisor

Quantitative Methods
Ihorn, Shasta
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2018

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2013

Office: EP 237
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday 10am-12pm, schedule here

Phone: (415) 338-3218
Email: sihorn@sfsu.edu
Web:

School
Educational Psychology Interdisciplinary Research
Equity and Diversity in STEM

Karras, Juliana
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2020

Ph.D., City University of New York, 2018

Office: EP 307
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Monday 2-5pm, schedule here
Phone: (415) 405-3417
Email: jkarras@sfsu.edu
Web: A.R.C. Lab Rm EP 316

Developmental
Inequality and Social Development
Civic Engagement
Children’s Rights
Ethnic-Racial Identity
Immigrant-Origin Children and Youth
Kim, John J.
Professor
Joined SF State in 1995

Ph.D., M.I.T., 1993

Office: EP 421
Office Hours: Fall 2022, by appointment (email for zoom link)
Phone: (415) 405-4155
Email: johnjkim@sfsu.edu
Web:
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Cognitive Development
Liu, Shuyi
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2022

Ph.D., Iowa State University, 2022

Office: EP 235
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Thursday 2-4pm in person
Phone: (415) 338-7546
Email: shuyil@sfsu.edu
Clinical
Matsumoto, David
Professor
Joined SF State in 1989

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 1986

Office: EP 328
Office Hours: Fall 2022, 12:15-1:15pm or email for appointment
Phone: (415) 338-1114
Email: dm@sfsu.edu
Web: Culture and Emotion Research Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior/Social
Cross-Cultural Emotion
U.S Olympics- Judo
Mello, Zena
Professor
Joined SF State in 2013

Ph.D., Penn State University, 2005

Office: EP 309
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Thursday 10:30am-12:30pm at Zoom link

Phone: (415) 338-7557
Email: zmello@sfsu.edu
Web: The Time Lab

Social
Adolescence
Ethnic Minority Groups
Time Perspective
Low Socioeconomic Status
Monteiro, Kenneth
Professor
Joined SF State in 1987

Ph.D., Stanford, 1982

Office: EP 406
Office Hours: Fall 2022, not available
Phone: (415) 405-7587
Email: monteiro@sfsu.edu
Web:
Developmental
Cognitive Psychology
Multicultural Issues
African American Achievement
Morsella, Ezequiel
Professor
Joined SF State in 2007

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2002
 

Office: EP 324
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Friday 10:30am-12:30pm (email for zoom link)
Phone: (415) 338-1831
Email: morsella@sfsu.edu
Web: Action and Consciousness Lab
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Neuroscience of Consciousness and Action Control
Paap, Ken
Professor
Joined SF State in 2004

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1975

Office: EP 503A
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday & Thursday 3:30-4:30pm in person
Phone: (415) 338-6840
Email: kenp@sfsu.edu
Web:
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Language
Attention
Cognitive Engineering
Paik, Jae
Professor
Joined SF State in 2004

Ph.D., Indiana University, 2004

Office: EP 305
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Wednesday 8:30-10:30am on
Zoom Link
Phone: (415) 405-0577
Email: jaepaik@sfsu.edu
Web: Learning and Developmental Lab

Coordinator-Developmental

Developmental
Social and Emotional Learning
Cognitive Development
Service Learning in Psychology
Culture and Development

Sanchez, Diana
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2017

Ph.D., Colorado State, 2017

Office: EP 305
Office Hours: Fall 2022, drop in 3-4pm and TW 8am-3pm by appointment at https://calendly.com/sanchezdianar
Phone: (415) 338-1059
Email: sanchezdinar@sfsu.edu

Web: Workplace Technology Lab

Industrial/Organizational
Training & Development Virtual Teams
Games & Simulation based Learning
Workplace Technology

Smith, Amy
Professor
Joined SF State in 2004

Ph.D., UC Santa Cruz, 2004
J.D., University of Michigan, 1998

Office: EP 508
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Thursday 11am-12:30pm (email for zoom link)
Phone: (415) 338-1275
Email: smithae@sfsu.edu
Web:
Social
Legal/Forensics
Psychology and Law
Social Justice
Jury Deliberations/Decision Making
Suri, Gaurav R.
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2016

Ph.D., Stanford, 2015

Office: EP 306
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Monday 3:30-5:30pm in person
Phone: (415) 405-3477
Email: suri@sfsu.edu
Web: Readiness, Activation, and Decision Making Lab

Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Decision Making      Neural Networks
Attention & Learning
Emotion Regulation

Tate, Charlotte
Professor
Joined SF State in 2009

Ph.D., University of Oregon, 2006

Office: EP 310
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday 11am-12pm, Wednesday 4-5pm, and Thursday 3:30-5pm (in person and on zoom at https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/89928505637?pwd=b0JUKzNKZGVFanJWajBFS2dpRmx6UT09
Phone: (415) 338-2267
Email: ctate2@sfsu.edu
Web: Social Perception, Attitudes, Mental Simulation Lab

Coordinator- MA Social
Prejudice and Discrimination
Identity
Sexuality

Wolf, Jaclyn
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2022

Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2021

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday & Thursday 12:30-1:30pm (email for zoom link)
Phone: (415) 338-1104

Email: jaclynwolf@sfsu.edu 

Clinical
Wright, Christian
Professor
Joined SF State in 1998

Ph.D., University of South Florida, 1996

Office: EP 301
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email schen9@sfsu.edu for an appointment
Phone: (415) 338-7555
Email: cwright@sfsu.edu
Web: Employee Research Lab
Coordinator- MS Industrial/Organizational
Human Resource Selection
Test Development Validation
Job Analysis

 

The Chair of the Psychology Department is Professor Chris Wright. Appointments can be made by emailing the Assistant to the Chair, Singing Chen. Please include your phone number and available days/times.

Psychology Department Lecturers
Lecturer Contact Information
Anders-Jefferson, Regina

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: reginaa@mail.sfsu.edu

Burciaga, Ashley

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: burciaga@mail.sfsu.edu
Chandler, Sean Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday and Thursday 10am-12pm on zoom
Email: schandle@mail.sfsu.edu
Chen, Ivy Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: ivychen@sfsu.edu
Estelll, Deborah Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: destell@mail.sfsu.edu
Feinberg, Giles

Office: Via Google Vo
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: naptron@mail.sfsu.edu

Ghafur, Reza

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: rghafur@sfsu.edu

Halligan, Jim

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: halligan@sfsu.edu

Hill, Adrienne

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: ah@sfsu.edu

Hughes-Stone, Mary

 

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: mphughes@sfsu.edu

Jean Pierre, Adrianna

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: annaj@mail.sfsu.edu

Kaufman, Cari

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday 12-12:50pm in EP 216 or email for appointment
Email:ckaufman4@sfsu.edu

Kaur, Rupinder

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: kaurrupinder1414@gmail.com

Leong, Susana Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: leong@sfsu.edu
Lucier, Dawn Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: dlucier@sfsu.edu
Martell, Zoe Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Wednesday 7:30-9:30pm & by appointment
Email: zmartell@sfsu.edu
Miller, Raquel Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: rmiller4@mail.sfsu.edu
Mota, Bruna Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: bmota@mail.sfsu.edu
Parker, Jana Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: janaparker@sfsu.edu
Parson, Shannon Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: scparsons@sfsu.edu

Peng, Wagner

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: wpeng1@sfsu.edu

Perry, Chris Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: chrisp@mail.sfsu.edu
Purnell, Sarah

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: spurnel1@mail.sfsu.edu

Ravaglioli, Stephanie

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: sravagli@mail.sfsu.edu

Rodriguez, Rita Office: EP 326
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: ritar@sfsu.edu
Shrayber, Mark Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: mshraybe@sfsu.edu

Sinervo, Aviva

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Thursday 2-4pm via zoom
Email: asinervo@sfsu.edu

Tinson, Leslye

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, Tuesday 10am-12pm, appt here
Email: ltinson@sfsu.edu

White, Nathan

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Fall 2022, email for appointment
Email: nwhite2@mail.sfsu.edu

Psychology Department Emeritus/Emerita Faculty
Emeritus/Emerita Faculty
Dr. K. Bartelme
Emeritus since 1988
Dr R. Grissom
Emeritus since 2000
Dr. H. Lindgren
Emeritus since 1984
Dr. V. Saunders
Emerita since 2007
Dr. L. Berry,
Emerita since 2004
Dr. M. Heinstein
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. W. Littel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Spencer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. R. Bowler
Emerita since 2005
rbowl@sfsu.edu
Dr. F. Hovell
Emeritus since 2001
Dr. B. Loewy
Emerita since 2002
Dr. T. Steiner
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. W. Coppcock
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. S. Hunter
Emeritus since 1989
Dr. J. Luft
Emeritus since 1986
Dr. R. Suczek
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. G. Cox,
Emerita since 1987
Dr. S. Insel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. R. Mayer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. S. Zipf
Emerita since 2003
gs74@sfsu.edu
Dr. J. DeCecco
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. A. Jacobson
Emeritus since 1991
Dr. N. McCoy
Emerita since 2007
Dr. J. Newton
Emeritus since 2012
Dr. H. Einhorn
Emeritus since 1996
Dr. M. Kardush
Emerita since 2005
Dr. D. Piontkowski
Emerita since 2003
Dr. S. Waldman
Emerita since 2011
Dr. P. Eskilden
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Kroeber,
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. J. Podell
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. M. Lynch
Emerita since 2015
Dr. R. Fresco Emeritus since 1994 Dr. L. Kroeker
Emeritus since 2008
lkroeker@sfsu.edu
Dr. S. Rauch
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. K. Mosier
Emerita since 2016
Dr. R. Goldman,
Emerita since 2001
Dr. R. LaForge
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. R. Rust,
Emeritus since 1987

Dr. D. Terrell,
Emeritus since 2021

Dr. J. Lewis,
Emeritus since 2022
University Administration
Administrator Contact Information Specialty
Bunge, Sacha
Professor
at SF State since 1989
Ph.D., Berkeley
Office: HSS 359
Office Hours:
not available this semester
Dean of Faculty Affairs
Phone: (415) 338-1846
E-mail: sbunge@sfsu.edu
Clinical / Developmental
Psychology Department Office Staff
Staff Contact Information Role
Vivian Toy
Department Office Manager
Office: EP 301
Phone: (415) 338-2714
Email:  viv@sfsu.edu
Staff Supervisor
Supply Order
Purchasing/Reimbursements
Department Budget
Course Schedule Building
Chen, Singing
Assistant to the Chair
Office: EP 301
Phone: (415) 338-7555
Email: schen9@sfsu.edu
Payroll/ Human Resources issues
Department Chair Calendar
Scheduling Appointments
Faculty/Lecturer Course Appointments

Fields, Christopher
Student Services Coordinator

Office: EP 301
Phone: (415) 338-2711
Email:  cfields5@sfsu.edu
General Information
Student Form Processing
Student Assistant Supervisor
Basic Advising
Student Outreach/Internships
VACANT
Clinic Coordinator
Office: EP 240
Office Hours:
Phone: (415) 338-2856
Email: sfsupsyclin@gmail.com
Web: SF State Training Clinic
Psychology Clinic
Test Library 

Kwong, Megan
Graduate Services Liaison 

Office: EP 301
Phone: (415) 338-2713
Email: mwkwong@sfsu.edu
Graduate program information services
MA/MS Program Admissions