Faculty & Staff

Students should see a Faculty Advisor to discuss the following topics:

  • Questions about psychology careers (visit an advisor who has expertise that aligns with your interests)
  • Approval of Academic Probation Forms
  • Course Adds, Withdrawals, etc.

To report a conduct concern, please contact the Chair of the Psychology Department. Appointments can be made by emailing the Assistant to the Chair, Singing Chen. Please include your phone number and available days/times.

 

 

 

Faculty Advisor Contact Information Specialty
Ben-Zeev, Avi
Professor
Joined SF State in 2001

Ph.D., Yale, 1997

Office: N/A
Office Hours: Summer 2024, not available

Phone: N/A
Email: abenzeev@sfsu.edu
Web: Cognition and Social Equity Lab

Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Mathematical Reasoning
Stereotyping
 
Cookston, Jeff
Professor
Joined SF State in 2002

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2000

Office: EP 503B
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By Appointment

Phone: (415) 405-2132
Email: cookston@sfsu.edu
Lab website: Family Interaction Research lab
Website: Jeff Cookston

Psychology Department Graduate Program Coordinator

Social Construction of Family
Parenting
Marital/Family Conflict
Divorce

Eschleman, Kevin
Professor
Joined SF State inn 2012

Ph.D., Wright State University, 2011

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, by appointment
Phone: (415) 338-1030
Email: kesch@sfsu.edu
Web: Health and Organizational Psychology

Coordinator -Industrial/Organizational
Job Satisfaction
Job Stress & Health
Career Pursuit
Gard, David
Professor
Joined SF State in 1997

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2005

Office: EP 241
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Email For Appointment and Zoom Link.
Phone (415) 338-1440
Email: dgard@sfsu.edu
Web: Motivation and Emotion Research Lab

Coordinator - MS Clinical
Experimental
Psychopathology
Schizophrenia
Geisler, Mark
Professor
Joined SF State in 1999

Ph.D., SUNY, Stony Brook, 1994

Office: EP 325
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Phone: (415) 338-6026
Email: mgeisler@sfsu.edu
Coordinator - MA Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Human Cognitive
Psychophysiology
Sensory-Cognitive Processing
Hagan, Melissa
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2015

Ph.D., Arizona State University, 2013

Office: EP 239
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Email for appointment
Phone: (415) 405-3555
Email: mjhagan@sfsu.edu
Web: www.sfsustarlab.com
Clinical
Stress/Trauma
Mental Health Disparities
Resilience
Psychophysiology
Interventions 
Harris, Diane
Professor
Joined SF State in 1990

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1980

Office: EP 234
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Phone: (415) 338-7064
Email: dharris@sfsu.edu
 
School
Clinical
Eating Disorders
Childhood Overweight
Obesity
Holley, Sarah
Professor
Joined SF State in 2011

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 2010

Office: EP 236
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Link for appointment scheduling
Phone: (415) 405-0760
Email: sholley@sfsu.edu
Web: Relationships, Emotion and Health Lab
Clinical
Relationships
Emotions
Health
Howell, Ryan
Professor
Joined SF State in 2007

Ph.D., UC Riverside, 2005

Office: EP 202
Office Hours: Summer 2024, email schen9@sfsu.edu for an appointment
Phone: (415) 338-7555
Email: rhowell@sfsu.edu
Web: PWB Research Lab

Department Chair

Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Quantitative Methods

Ihorn, Shasta
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2018

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2013

Office: EP 237
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available 
Phone: (415) 338-3218
Email: sihorn@sfsu.edu
Web:

Coordinator - School Psychology
Educational Psychology Interdisciplinary Research
Equity and Diversity in STEM

Karras, Juliana
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2020

Ph.D., City University of New York, 2018

Office Hours: Summer 2024, Available by appointment on youcanbookme
Phone: (415) 405-3417
Email: jkarras@sfsu.edu
 

Developmental
Inequality and Social Development
Civic Engagement
Children’s Rights
Ethnic-Racial Identity
Immigrant-Origin Children and Youth
Kim, John J.
Professor
Joined SF State in 1995

Ph.D., M.I.T., 1993

Office: EP 421
Office Hours: Summer 2024, not available 
Phone: (415) 405-4155
Email: johnjkim@sfsu.edu
Web:
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Cognitive Psychology
Cognitive Development
Liu, Shuyi
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2022

Ph.D., Iowa State University, 2022

Office: EP 235
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By appointment
Phone: (415) 338-7546
Email: shuyil@sfsu.edu
Psychology For the People! Lab
Clinical
Mental Health Impact of Minority Stress (e.g., Racial Discrimination, Acculturative Stress, and Bicultural Stress)
Promoting Effective Cross-Cultural Clinical Supervision
Matsumoto, David
Professor
Joined SF State in 1989

Ph.D., UC Berkeley, 1986

Office: EP 328
Summer 2024, Not available

Phone: (415) 338-1114
Email: dm@sfsu.edu

Mind, Brain, and Behavior/Social
Culture and Emotion
Mello, Zena
Professor
Joined SF State in 2013

Ph.D., Penn State University, 2005

Office: EP 309
Office Hours: Summer 2024, No Available

Phone: (415) 338-7557
Email: zmello@sfsu.edu
Web: The Time Lab

Social
Adolescence
Ethnic Minority Groups
Time Perspective
Low Socioeconomic Status
Morsella, Ezequiel
Professor
Joined SF State in 2007

Ph.D., Columbia University, 2002
 

Office: EP 324
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By appointment
Phone: (415) 338-1831
Email: morsella@sfsu.edu
Web: Action and Consciousness Lab

Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Neuroscience of Consciousness and Action Control
Paap, Ken
Professor
Joined SF State in 2004

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1975

Office: EP 503A
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Phone: (415) 338-6840
Email: kenp@sfsu.edu
Mind, Brain, and Behavior
Language
Attention
Cognitive Engineering
Paik, Jae
Professor
Joined SF State in 2004

Ph.D., Indiana University, 2004

Office: EP 305
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By appointment
Phone: (415) 405-0577
Email: jaepaik@sfsu.edu
Web: Learning and Developmental Lab

Coordinator-Developmental
Social and Emotional Learning
Cognitive Development
Service Learning in Psychology
Culture and Development

Sanchez, Diana
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2017

Ph.D., Colorado State, 2017

Office: EP 305
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available   
Phone: (415) 338-1059
Email: sanchezdinar@sfsu.edu
Web: Workplace Technology Lab
Lab Guidelines
Google Calendar

Industrial/Organizational
Training & Development Virtual Teams
Games & Simulation based Learning
Workplace Technology

Singh, Anisha
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2023

Ph.D., University of Maryland, 2023

Office: EP 327
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By appointment
Phone: (415) 405-0909
Email: asingh56@sfsu.edu
Web: LETR Lab (Learning and Technology Research Lab) - https://sites.google.com/view/letrlab

Reading across Different Media
Multiple Source Use in Online Environments
Effects of Multilingualism in Digital Communication

Smith, Amy
Professor
Joined SF State in 2004

Ph.D., UC Santa Cruz, 2004
J.D., University of Michigan, 1998

Office: EP 508
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available.
Phone: (415) 338-1275
Email: smithae@sfsu.edu
 
Social
Legal/Forensics
Psychology and Law
Social Justice
Jury Deliberations/Decision Making
Suri, Gaurav R.
Associate Professor
Joined SF State in 2016
Ph.D., Stanford, 2015

Office: EP 306
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Phone: (415) 405-3477
Email: suri@sfsu.edu
Web: Readiness, Activation, and Decision Making Lab

Mind, Brain, and Behavior

Computational Neuroscience
Neural Networks
Decision Making
Emotion and Emotion Regulation

Tate, Charlotte
Professor
Joined SF State in 2009

Ph.D., University of Oregon, 2006

Office: EP 310
Office Hours: Spring 2024, By appointment Zoom: https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/89928505637?pwd=b0JUKzNKZGVFanJWajBFS2dpRmx6UT09
Phone: (415) 338-2267
Email: ctate2@sfsu.edu
Web: Social Perception, Attitudes, Mental Simulation Lab

Coordinator- MA Social
Prejudice and Discrimination
Identity
Sexuality

Wolf, Jaclyn
Assistant Professor
Joined SF State in 2022

Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2021

Office: EP 238
Office Hours: Summer 2024, by appointment (email for zoom link). 
Phone: (415) 338-1104
Email: jaclynwolf@sfsu.edu
Web: Psychology For The people! Lab 

Clinical
Educational and Mental Health Experiences and Needs of Students from Minoritized Cultural and Linguistic Backgrounds
Training of Culturally Competent Educators and Practitioners
Wright, Christian
Professor
Joined SF State in 1998

Ph.D., University of South Florida, 1996

Office: EP 301
Office Hours: Summer 2024, by appointment
Phone: (415) 338-1465
Email: cwright@sfsu.edu
Web: Employee Research Lab
Industrial/Organizational
Human Resource Selection
Test Development Validation
Job Analysis

 

The Chair of the Psychology Department is Professor Ryan Howell. Appointments can be made by emailing the Assistant to the Chair, Singing Chen. Please include your phone number and available days/times.

Psychology Department Lecturers
Lecturer Contact Information  
Anders-Jefferson, Regina

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: reginaa@mail.sfsu.edu

 

Burciaga, Ashley

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: burciaga@mail.sfsu.edu

 
Chandler, Sean Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: schandle@mail.sfsu.edu
 
Chen, Ivy Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By Appointment
Email: ivychen@sfsu.edu
 
Chen, Yufei Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: ychen72@sfsu.edu
 
Christensen, Eric Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: ericchristensen@sfsu.edu
 
Elsabbagh, Tala Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: telsabbagh@sfsu.edu
 
Estell, Deborah Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: destell@mail.sfsu.edu
 
Feinberg, Giles

Office: Via Google Voice
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: naptron@mail.sfsu.edu

 

Guevarra, Darwin

Office: TBA
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: guevarra@umich.edu

 

Halligan, Jim

Office: EP 311
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By Appointment
Email: halligan@sfsu.edu

 

Hill, Adrienne

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: ah@sfsu.edu
Zoom Link

 

Holcomb, Madeline

 

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: mholcomb@mail.sfsu.edu

 
Jeanpierre, Adrianna Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: annaj@mail.sfsu.edu
 
Kaufman, Cari Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: ckaufman4@sfsu.edu
 
Kaur, Rupinder Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2024, Not Available
Email: rkaur1@mail.sfsu.edu
 
Krepack, Alan Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: akrepack1@sfsu.edu
 
Leong, Susana Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: leong@sfsu.edu
 
Lucier, Dawn

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By Appointment
Email: dlucier@sfsu.edu

 
Martell, Zoe Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: zmartell@sfsu.edu
 
Mclachlan, Jessica Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: jmclachl@sfsu.edu
 
Miller, Raquel Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: rmiller4@mail.sfsu.edu
 
Mota, Bruna Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: bmota@mail.sfsu.edu
 
Parsons, Shannon Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: scparsons@sfsu.edu
 

Peng, Wagner

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: wpeng1@sfsu.edu

 
Perry, Chris Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: chrisp@mail.sfsu.edu
 
Pritchard, Loïc

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: loicp@sfsu.edu.

 
Purnell, Sarah

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: spurnel1@mail.sfsu.edu

 

Ravaglioli, Stephanie

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: sravagli@mail.sfsu.edu

 
Rodriguez, Rita Office: EP 326
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: ritar@sfsu.edu
 
Shrayber, Mark Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, By Appointment
Email: mshraybe@sfsu.edu
 
Shooshani, Roxanne Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: roxys@sfsu.edu
 
Sinervo Paul, Aviva Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email:asinervo@sfsu.edu
 
Tinson, Leslye Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: ltinson@sfsu.edu
 
Wright-Wilson, Latoya

Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Summer 2024, Not Available
Email: lwrightwilson@mail.sfsu.edu

 

 

GTA Contact Information
Derbier, Pierre Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2024, available by appointment
Email: pderbier@sfsu.edu
Doker, Sean Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2024, available by appointment
Email: sdoker@mail.sfsu.edu
Hennigan, Sean Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2024, available by appointment
Email: shennigan@sfsu.edu
Yow, Jenn Office: Via Zoom
Office Hours: Spring 2024, available by appointment
Email: jyow@sfsu.edu
ISA Contact Information

Amaya, Fernanda 

Email: famaya@mail.sfsu.edu

Bielz, Brittney Email: bbielz@mail.sfsu.edu
Gil, Gilberto Email: ggil1@mail.sfsu.edu
Harmos, Irene Email: iharmos@mail.sfsu.edu
Le, Kelly Email: kle39@sfsu.edu
Morfidis, Eleni Email: emorfidis@sfsu.edu
Siu, Chloe Email: csiu2@mail.sfsu.edu

 

Psychology Department Emeritus/Emerita Faculty
Emeritus/Emerita Faculty
Dr. K. Bartelme
Emeritus since 1988
Dr R. Grissom
Emeritus since 2000
Dr. H. Lindgren
Emeritus since 1984
Dr. V. Saunders
Emerita since 2007
Dr. L. Berry,
Emerita since 2004
Dr. M. Heinstein
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. W. Littel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Spencer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. R. Bowler
Emerita since 2005
rbowl@sfsu.edu
Dr. F. Hovell
Emeritus since 2001
Dr. B. Loewy
Emerita since 2002
Dr. T. Steiner
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. W. Coppcock
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. S. Hunter
Emeritus since 1989
Dr. J. Luft
Emeritus since 1986
Dr. R. Suczek
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. G. Cox,
Emerita since 1987
Dr. S. Insel
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. R. Mayer
Emeritus since 2010
Dr. S. Zipf
Emerita since 2003
gs74@sfsu.edu
Dr. J. DeCecco
Emeritus since 2003
Dr. A. Jacobson
Emeritus since 1991
Dr. N. McCoy
Emerita since 2007
Dr. J. Newton
Emeritus since 2012
Dr. H. Einhorn
Emeritus since 1996
Dr. M. Kardush
Emerita since 2005
Dr. D. Piontkowski
Emerita since 2003
Dr. S. Waldman
Emerita since 2011
Dr. P. Eskilden
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. T. Kroeber,
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. J. Podell
Emeritus since 1990
Dr. M. Lynch
Emerita since 2015
Dr. R. Fresco Emeritus since 1994 Dr. L. Kroeker
Emeritus since 2008
lkroeker@sfsu.edu
Dr. S. Rauch
Emeritus since 1992
Dr. K. Mosier
Emerita since 2016
Dr. R. Goldman,
Emerita since 2001
Dr. R. LaForge
Emeritus since 1988
Dr. R. Rust,
Emeritus since 1987

Dr. D. Terrell,
Emeritus since 2021

Dr. J. Lewis,
Emeritus since 2022

Dr. K. Monteiro
Emeritus since 2023

Dr. M. Hughes Stone
Emeritus since 2023

University Administration
Administrator Contact Information Specialty
Bunge, Sacha
Professor
at SF State since 1989
Ph.D., Berkeley
Office: HSS 359
Office Hours:
not available this semester
Dean of Faculty Affairs
Phone: (415) 338-1846
E-mail: sbunge@sfsu.edu
Clinical / Developmental
Psychology Department Office Staff
Staff Contact Information Role
Vivian Toy
Department Office Manager
Office: EP 301
Phone: (415) 338-2714
Email:  viv@sfsu.edu
PSY office manager                  Hiring/Payroll
APDB
Purchasing/Reimbursements
Department Budget
Course Schedule Building
Chen, Singing
Assistant to the Chair
Office: EP 301
Phone: (415) 338-7555
Email: schen9@sfsu.edu
Department Chair Calendar
Supply Order Inventory
Assist Front desk

Fields, Christopher
Student Services Coordinator

Office: EP 301
Phone: (415) 338-2711
Email:  cfields5@sfsu.edu
Front desk supervisor
BA in Psychology program information services
Basic Advising for PSY
Student Outreach/Internships
Riley, Lauren
Clinic Coordinator
Graduate Services Liaison 

Office: EP 240
Office Hours:
Phone(Clinic): (415) 338-2856
Phone(GSL): (415) 338-2234
Email: lriley1@sfsu.edu
Web: SF State Training Clinic

Psychology Clinic
Test Library
Graduate program information services
MA/MS Program Admissions